Sign in with
Your question

PCAnywhere or VPN with Linksys WRVS4400N & WRT54G v.1.1

Last response: in Networking
February 8, 2007 9:18:16 PM

PC Anywhere vs. VPN utilizing a Linksys WRVS4400N on our side & an WRT54G Router at the remote site for a total of 7 PC's.

Quote:
I have a handful of questions that might us help you out...
1. how many users at each remote office?
2. What will the remote offices do with the main office? (Word processing, file sharing, CAD files?)
3. How much bandwidth does each location have?
4. What is your monthly budget for bandwidth?
5. How hands on do you want this project to be?
6. What OS's do you run?

-Cheers

Keep in mind that I've never done this before. Have always used pcAnywhere since it's inception 10yrs ago.
I'm very familiar with Windows 2000 Server, but we do not have any here. The boss doesn't want it, due to expenses in support, licensing, yada-yada-yada.

OK, First answers to your questions above:

1. 5-7 users

2. Word Processing, MS Word, Excel (spreadsheets average 25MB in size), some image modifications about averaging about 25MB in size

3. Using cable modems, 5MB+ downstream, 512kb upstream on both our office & the remote office. We do not have a static I.P. but this could change if need be. We also, use DYNDNS.org

4. The bandwidth would be totally used for this. Maybe allow one or two Max. users to surf the internet w/o huge file downloads.

5. I am willing to be fully hands so I can avoid having to bring in an outside source until I know what I'm doing. Then I'll subsidize the support & will use myself as a backup in the future.
6. The O.S. is strictly Windows XP Professional SP-2.

Second, Keep in mind that we do not have any servers here.
Will we need one?