Beginning Linux Development

gary201147

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2006
This is a question from a real novice...but I was wondering what it takes to be developer or contributor to GNU, open source programs such as Linux, Mozilla, etc?

There seems to be a wealth of information out there but all sorted in a seemingly esoteric manner, such that beginners like me are often caught in circles.

I have used Linux before, I have beginner/intermediate level C++ knowledge, and Im an engineer. I have been really interested in open source software development. Where do I start? Are there books I should read?

I guess the question comes down to: if you wanna know how to be knowledgeable enough to contribute to the open source community, where do you start?

bmouring

Distinguished
May 6, 2006
My suggestion:

Pick a project that seems interesting to you, especially one that is written in C++ (unless you don't mind spending a little time learning a new language).

See how they keep their source, usually either via CVS or Subversion. If you don't already have it installed, install it.

(Optional) Pick a nice IDE to work in, install. I like eclipse and the CDT plugin, but there are many others that are better in certain areas.

Make sure you have all of the tools and libraries to build the project, get the latest version of the project from source control, make sure you can build it. Read any build notes on the dev site/in the source control itself for hints.

Read the dev site/mailing list for bug listings and/or feature requests.

Attempt to fill those requests.

Run any unit tests/regression tests the project has