Sameer

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2004
Hello all...

First off, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to respond to this.

I am building a new system and plan to buy all my parts and what not on the 16th of April. Since I am posting here for help, it is safe

to assume that I am a complete noob. I've only built 3 systems in the past and I really want this one to be good. Is April 16th a good

date? I don't mind waiting another 2 weeks or so if there someone believes that the prices will drop due to some new release.

I've got a budget of about $3,000.00 and I want a gaming rig that will run any game I choose to play flawlessly at high fps rates. I

also want a system I can brag about :p. I do plan to overclock this system to the absolute best of my abilities (with your help).

Just remember, I'm open to ideas and nothing is set in stone yet. So far, based on the reviews I've read, I have decided to choose the

following:

CPU:
INTEL Conroe E6600 2.4GHz FSB1066MHz 4MB LGA775 Dual-Core (E6600)
I've seen people refer to specific models and stepping and stuff like that... What should I look for?

MB:
Debating between 3 of them: P5B-E, P5N32-E SLI Plus, Striker Extreme
Which one is the best for gaming/Overclocking?

Video Card:
8800GTX - BFG/XFX/ASUS/EVGA - Whichever is the cheapest - Is that a good way to decide?

Sound Card:
On-board should be fine for my Logitec Z-5500 which I plan to use still.

HDD:
Two WD Raptor 150s in Raid 0.

Memory:
There is SOOO much to choose from, I don't know which is best for overclocking with my setup. I am looking for 2GB or ram though, I

figure that will be best and I can always upgrade in the future when prices drop a bit more.

PSU:
OCZ GameXStream Power Supply (SLI Ready) 700W (OCZ700GXSSLI)
Is this a good choice? Also, I want my PC to look clean.

Case:
Thermaltake ARMOR black Aluminum full tower ATX case w side window
(Is this a good choice or are there better/cheaper alternatives?)

Cooling: