fusion_spare

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2007
Hi.
I am having a problem installing vista.... well any OS onto this system I have just built

With vista premium oem the disk is not found in the cd drive ? .. I swap the disk to win2000pro or XP pro and it finds the disk I set to boot to cd to install in the bios .... I press enter to proceed with install... it then tells me i have no hard disks are installed in system.

Asus Stricker extreme
2-sata WD Rapter 150
2 gig OCZ FLEX PC2-9200 1150mHz watercooled
Dual core intel e6300 watercooled
kandalf LCS
Twintech 8800gts oc editon 640mb
Enermax infinity 720w psu
oem IDE/ pata cd drive

Can this be a bios issue related to the use of an ide cd drive to instal windows ?

Thx Dave

fusion_spare

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2007
Well im new to sata disks and raid 0 set ups coming from asus p4t and a p4 1.4 rim ram qhich working fine still today but..... i think i missed something simple i asuumed that with raid 0 out of the packet new disks missed the format process ....so i just woke up thinking do i need to format these before raid 0 striping as this stricker motherboard does it for u in the bios ... This bios has so many new options overclockings gonna be a mine field

Any help guys

Dave

occdavid

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2007
It sounds like you have 2 problems with your vista install. First one I caught was the Vista CD is not a CD - its a DVD so you need a DVD-rom drive at the least. (someone correct me if I'm wrong)

Then I think you found using the XP CD (this is a CD which is why it works in your drive) you found that no HD is found. Which points to a Bios setting not correct. Not sure on the Striker - but you will need to set HD's to Raid, set boot order to CD (or DVD when you get one for Vista), second boot device should be the Array.
Then in the Raid bios create the 0 array with the 2 drives and some let you mark it as "bootable"