First Build Suggestions please

Milford

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2007
Well as you may have guessed by the topic this is my first build, this computer will basically be used for gaming. I have not kept up to date with what is new out there as much as I would like to so I ask of you two things.

1) What is a good way to keep updated on new hardware coming out and
how to read benchmarks.

2) Suggestions on certain components.

Components and accessories I already have:

Mouse: Logitech G7 Cordless Mouse

Keyboard: Logitech G11

Dvd Burner: Sony Dual Layer Dvd Burner

Backup Power Supply: APC ES 650

Sound System: Logitech X-540

Components I have yet to buy:

Case: NZXT Lexa

PSU:

CPU: Was thinking of a high end dual core amd or a quad.

Motherboard: I was thinking of a ASUS motherboard.

Hard Drive: Does partitioning a drive slow it down much? if so I will buy
two Hard Drives.

RAM:

VideoCard: Geforce 8800?

Sound Card: needs to be 5.1 or up

OS: Windows XP Professional, x64 or the keep with the 32?

I thank you for your time and your opinions, I am also a Canadian resident so if you know of a few canadian websites to order some of my parts from I would greatly appreciate it.

clue69less

Splendid
Mar 2, 2006
What is a good way to keep updated on new hardware coming out and how to read benchmarks.

Read here and Anand for starters. Join the XtremeSystems forum if you want to learn alot about performance aspects, overclocking, etc. Pick up a magazine subscription or three, like MaximumPC, CPU or other such fluff if you like to look at pretty pictures and kill a few trees.

Components I have yet to buy:

PSU:

CPU: Was thinking of a high end dual core amd or a quad.

Hard Drive: Does partitioning a drive slow it down much? if so I will buy two Hard Drives.

RAM: