Advice on buying laptop

danqr

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2011
I'm an ignoramus looking for a laptop for low-level usage (email, web, photos, finance, documents). Any advice on this group of laptops? Good display important (crisp text, large viewing angle).
Aspire AS5755-6699
Vaio VPC-EH2LGX
Lenovo G570
Asus X53E-XR1
Toshiba Satellite L755-S5356

Thanks.

All are outstandng products... only limitations would be the price and monitor size and all seem to be 15 inchers.

Best Value Laptops (For The Money) - 2011

Best deal in my opinion; 6th in the Best Value Laptops (For The Money) - 2011 list
HP G72-250US 17.3-Inch Laptop

Laptop Configurator - Interactive selection of features you'd like and need in a Laptop

danqr

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2011
Thanks, Chicano. I needed one sooner, and found the Asus U56E-RBL7 on sale at Office Depot for $650. So far looks pretty good, but then I'm a permanent novice.

Yeah… someone (me included) should have tackled your post sooner.. but you did well on your own… the specs look good; Intel i5, 8Gigs RAM, 750GBHD, 9.25hrs battery life. USB 3.0. Numeric pad, it's got all the works!, so.. well done for a novice.

danqr

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2011
Forgot to mention, the USB3 port really appealed to me, though will have to wait for reasonably priced flash drives or docking stations. Meanwhile, I'd like to clone to a hard drive as backup, but prices recently have doubled or tripled due to the flooding in Thailand apparently. Don't know of a reliable cheaper source, or how long till prices drop again.

You can do better:

Better gaming performance

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834214479
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/HP+-+Factory-Refurbished+Pavilion+Laptop+/+AMD+A-Series+Processor+/+15.6%26%2334%3B+Display+-+Dark+Umber/4303083.p?id=1218471875091&skuId=4303083

Better performance for general computing

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834215118

Better battery life