dlbaxter

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2007
I'm a budget gamer. I've been researching for a few months now, very aware that there is always another deal around the next corner (and even newer and more expensive technology too). I've settled on something akin to Sanji's $750 C2D machine, though I think I'll be able to slip in 2 gigs of RAM and a budget GTS for about the same price.

I know how to put a computer together, but I've never tried oc'ing (CPU, GPU, or RAM). I think his build is built on that foundation. If I'm too lazy or inept at oc'ing, is there a better budget build for me? Meaning, since I'm wasting the opportunity these components offer (fast speed if oc'd for cheap), is there a better no-hassle choice out there for an incompetent like me!

I realize I may have already bought that system (xbox360), but the allure of Oblivion mods, Medieval:TW, and future gaming enterprises draws me back to the luxury of a gaming rig. Plus I need a desktop to take over for my four year old laptop.

EDIT: I wish I could see the graphical difference between say the $500, $750, and $1000 builds. I don't need each individual blade of grass to have its own shadow, but it'd be nice to improve upon the xbox360.

skyguy

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2006
Can't compare Xbox to PC. Like comparing apples to watermelons. End of story. Don't go there ;)

Difference between $500, $750, $1000 is primarily based on a few factors:

1) the graphics card, hands down. The $500 build won't compare even close to the $1000 because of the graphics card

2) RAM. 2 gigs is far superior to 1 gig, games and system will run better overall

3) CPU. Better CPU means smoother system function, however, not in game framerate....it's for the system, not the games. It also helps for CPU-intensive tasks such as video encoding, number crunching, etc, etc.