Sign in with
Your question

Are these temperatures safe? -- OC noob here

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
April 14, 2007 4:44:49 PM

Hi, this is my first time overclocking, and because it seemed too easy to step my E4300 up to 3 GHZ, I am really scrutinizing the safety of my OC. after reading the entire C2D FAQ and cpu temp guide, I still don't know if I am safe...anyhow I was wondering if ppl can chime in here. My OC SEEMS to be within safe specs, except, that the idle to load on full tat hits 25C, but once in a while when i get to about 10 min full TAT, it spikes o 67 or rarely, 68 degrees. I am using the Tuniq Tower cooler, using TAT to test 100% load, on a Gigabyte P965-DS3 rev 3.3, Stock Vcore. I initially upped the vcore a little as per the C2D OC guide, but I then reduced it back to stock after the OC as it seemed to work fine under stock Vcore conditions. If you need any more info please let this noob know! TIA!!

AT IDLE

TAT 100% after 10 minutes

More about : temperatures safe noob

April 14, 2007 5:46:03 PM

Those temperatures would be about what I would expect to see with your setup. Sixty-Eight degrees is high, but I would say that considering that you are overclocking the processor by 1.2 Ghz, then you are actually doing VERY WELL.

Typically, when overclocking 66% over, as you are currently, most ppl would be using water cooling. I also suggest that if you want to overclock any further on that setup, I would consider a water cooling setup. With those temps, you haven't hit the danger zone yet, but you are uncomfortably close.

But, then again, that's my opinion...take it for what it's worth.
April 14, 2007 10:04:16 PM

I did no plan on futher OC so I am having a hard time justifying water. one thing though.my tuniq tower fins and heat pipes never get hot...just slightly warm to the touch. I realy don't want to remove it to check the thermal greae....is that normal under load on this tuniq beast?
Related resources