Need new router - any suggestions

marshahu

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2003
I am a bit of a newb when it comes to networking. I have put up with a Belkin Wireless 54g Router. Model number F5D7230-4. Its the model from 2004 with two aerials, really wide, stands on its side, 4 LAN ports as well.

Unfortunately, the wireless has been playing up recently - no SSID would be broadcast and no matter what you did it was almost impossible to fix. It still makes a good wired switch though should I wish to extend my wired LAN. Thus, I need a new router.

There are so many bloody routers I can't pick and choose the right brand or model. Also some of the cheaper ones with only one aerial have abysmal coverage compared with my 3 yeard old router!

I need a wireless 54g router with the following features:

* Wireless 54g with support for 802.11g standard
* At least 2 aerials on the router to ensure good coverage (the building is very large so its imperitive that the router has that feature, more aerials would be better if they help)
* 4 port 10/100 LAN switch to plug in wired devices (any wireless routers with gigabit switch?)
* Built in firewall with the ability to do port forwarding, so I can open up ports for specific programs to work properly (i.e. Windows Live Messenger, Multi Player Games, Windows Media)
* Built in ability to secure the wireless network (using a WPA network key/password to access the wireless network)
* Any other facilities I havent mentioned that my current Belkin Router had including a noob friendly interface, DCHP, Virtual Firewall, Easy configuration

Any suggestions. I haven't got a strict budget but I want to pay as little as possible.

Thanks

killz86

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2005