hiramross

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2011
This is my first build and I have started my first boot up. The fans, lights, and opitcal drive power on, but I dont see anything coming on the screen (also no beeps or anything else happens). What should I check for and/or do to ensure a successful boot-up?? Please help.

My mother board = Asus Sabertooth X58
Video card = AMD 6950 VDI ports

Check your video card installation... that motherboard includes no video chipset so the video card should provide the image in vga mode... If the video card has a VGA port use it to connect the monitor while you install the drivers.

The user manual should be included in the CD or see this PDF user guide for the correct installation procedure in Installation Overview

AMD Radeon™ HD 6950/6970
http://www.power-color.com/Manual/090106/Radeon_HD_6900_Series_ENG.pdf

hiramross

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2011
Thank you!!

Its up and running now.

The boot up did give me a CPU Fan Error message but I check the connections, manual and there is no strange noise or turning from the fans. I installed a Corsair H80 closed liquid cooling unit. Do you have any suggestion for this..??? Please advise if possible. Thank again for the reply.

Please clear that underlined part for me.. "there is no strange turning from the fans"? meaning irregular speed?

If you used the processor pin header on the motherboard and the BIOS detected a different than normal speed (for a regular processor fan), this may be what caused the error message.

hiramross

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2011
yes that is correct..Irregular speed.

I think you are right. The message kepts showing up on inital boot up. How can I correct the message or keep it from showing up??