Sign in with
Your question

I DESPERATELY need some help!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 19, 2007 1:59:36 AM

Hey, I'm new to the TomsHardware forums, and am in need of some technical support for this hardware problem.

When I came home and booted up my computer, there was no display. Everything's been fine for about six months with no problem, so I made sure all of the cables were connected, etc, yet there was still no display from my GF6800 (monitor detects it's plugged into something, yet no video out from the GPU). So I swapped the 6800 with my 6600GT that's in my other computer, and it worked perfectly. So I thought, "great, my 6800's dead." BUT, my 6800 works perfectly fine with my OTHER computer.

Summary:

My computer:
6800 - no display
6600GT - works fine

Other computer:
6800 - works fine
6600GT - works fine

This doesn't make any sense and if anyone could help me, reach me on AIM at BMANZZS, or alternatively post here. Thanks a bunch.

Things I've tried:
- using different RAM
- reseated CPU
- took out motherboard and remounted it
- used a different PSU
- 6800 in a different computer (works fine)
- reset motherboard cmos

SPECS:
My computer (6800 no display, works fine with 6600GT):
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket754
Motherboard: BIOSTAR NF325-A7
RAM: 1GB (512x2) Corsair Value Select

Other computer (6800 and 6600GT work fine):
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Motherboard: ASUS something (compaq SR1130NX)
RAM: 512MB Samsumg PC3200

More about : desperately

April 19, 2007 2:10:33 AM

Quote:
Hey, I'm new to the TomsHardware forums, and am in need of some technical support for this hardware problem.