Temperature question

Fx10

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2007
I wasn't sure what forum to put this in, but since it's a more general home-built system question I thought this one would it would best fit here.

I've got a new system assembled and am wondering what I should be getting as far as temperatures go. I'm fairly new at this and am unsure of what's in a good range, and what I should look into.

These are idle temps

CPU e6600 running at 32c (consensus of my mobo software, speedfan, and coretemp) My motherboard reports that the cpu fan (stock intel) is running at 1700 rpm and that's triggering a fan failing warning. Anyone know what speed it should be running at? 1700 seems quite low.

System temp: 45c (should the system temp be higher than the cpu temp?)

Graphics: 8800gts running at 55c (I'm a complete newb at what this should be running at).

Are these inline for normal temps? Am I approaching a meltdown?

Mondoman

Splendid
Your CPU temp seems fine (you can stress it by running something like Orthos). Your system temp seems high (if not dangerously so), probably because of all the heat your graphics card is putting out. I'd consider improving your case ventilation -- ideally your system temp should be close to your ambient room temp.

Newf

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2005
The temp values are fine.
The system temp higher than cpu is odd, meaning that if true the cpu is not the primary source for heat. Must be the 8800.
See if you can adjust the alarm threshold for the cpu fan speed down. No sense getting false alarms.
You did not give specs, but it sounds like better case airflow could drop your system temps as well as the 8800's.

proof

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2006
My 8800s are not really that hot... At least they don't heat the case up too much. I do have 3 fans sucking every single molecule of hot air from them though... Man is my computer loud... The ONE thing I am dissapointed about is how loud those 120cfm fans are. (120x38)

Newf

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2005