clemkonan

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2006
I am trying to help a friend resolve a no boot problem with her laptop. We get a black screen at boot up and trying to reinstall with the XP disk gives a message ..." inspecting your system..." then all goes black.

Suspecting internet activity and possibly a boot virus I downloaded a boot disk ( Dr Dos) and was able to get to A> but strangely it seems to be holding this in memory and will not let me load WD Clear

I added WD clear to the same CD but cannot see it on a DIR command

Next it installed it ( WD Clear) on a separate disk and again the DR Dos loaded and I could not see WD Clear so I could not launch it!
I have to assume that I am doing this incorrectly so can someone give me a step by step solution. I am not an expert.

My plan was to try to reformat the entire HD and reload Windows.

Thanks

edklite

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2006
Get a hold of a W98 (or ME) boot floppy. Pop it in and run fdisk at the "A" prompt. Delete all the partitions.

then you should be able to boot from xp cd and install

pscowboy

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2002
If you have a boot sector virus, formatting will not get rid of it.

You will have to perform a debug routine that would take about 2 minutes.

After that, you do a fresh install of XP.

You will need a W98 (or ME) boot floppy diskette. Delete drivespace on this disc & add debug.exe. If you are near a 98 machine, copy debug onto the floppy from C:\Windows\Command. If not you can download it from the net.

Pop in the floppy - start up - at the "A" prompt type debug. You will get a minus sign prompt (-) . Type in the following lines; hitting Enter after each one. There are no letter O's except in the mov command.

f 200 L200 0
a 100
mov ax,301
mov bx,200
mov cx,1
mov dx,0080
int 13
int 3
(hit enter again)
g=100
q

Remove the floppy; pop in the XP cd; Ctrl-Alt-Delete; and install.

clemkonan

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2006