Sign in with
Your question

New Build, should I buy XP w/Vista coupon or just buy Vista

Last response: in Windows Vista
January 14, 2007 3:27:40 PM

Hello,

I am a newbie in building a PC from sctratch (see my specs below)!

I will be going with Windows Vista Ultimate or Home Premium. Should I buy one of the following from Newegg or buy the Vista upgrade (I have a full version of Windows 2000 retail):
Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 SP2b w/Upgrade Coupon for Vista - OEM $109.99

Microsoft Windows XP Pro SP2b 1pk w/Upgrade Coupon for Vista - OEM $139.99

I am not sure how much the Vista upgrades will cost? Any advice would be helpful?

Paul

Antec Nine Hundred case w/ Ultra XVS Modular 500W ATX Power Supply, Asus P5B-E Motherboard, Intel 2 Dual Core 2 6300 processor, PNY 8800GTS, WD 160 GB SATA Hard Drive (8GB & 150MB/sec DTR), and a whopping 256 MB of PNY DDR2 memory (I will be upgrading to a 2 GB Micron D9GMH or D9GKX kit this week if I can find a good deal). I may also pick up a WD Raptor 150 GB Hard drive ($180.00 after a $70.00 rebate at Micro Center) and use my current drive for storage.
January 15, 2007 3:01:55 AM

go w/ xp and get the coupon.
wait till SP1 comes out for Vista, before upgrading.
m
l
January 15, 2007 10:59:38 PM

Quote:
go w/ xp and get the coupon.
wait till SP1 comes out for Vista, before upgrading.

Sorry but that is not good advice. Read the original post.

The user already has Win 2000. He's considering buying either Win MCE, XP or Vista (Ultimate or HP).

Once he's upgraded his RAM, he will have a very decent Vista ready PC, and also ready for DX10.

To the OP, it depends on what you want to run, and if you'll be upgrading again in the near future (2007). If you don't want to upgrade again this year, there's no harm in going for one of the Vista versions you mention.