Building a new system - Need advice / rating on hardware

MrOrange

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2007
Hi All,

Im a noob to the THWForums, but been visiting THW for many years now, anyhoot i am building a new system and could do with some feedback on the spec.

I am about to purchase:

CPU:
x1 Intel Core 2 Duo E6700, Socket 775, 2.67 GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 4MB Cache, Retail

Motherboard:
x1 Asus Striker Extreme NF680i SLI, S 775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 533/667/800, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX

Memory:
x2 2GB (2x1GB) CorsairTwinX XMS2 Dominator,DDR2 PC2-6400,240 Pins, NonECC Unbuffered, CAS 4-4-4-12, EPP (Total 4gb ram)

Graphics Card:
x 1 640MB BFG Technology 8800GTS Overclocked PCI-E(x16) Mem 1600MHz GPU 550MHz 96 Streams HDTV/2 x DVI-I

Hard Drives:
x4 250 Gb Western Digital WD2500JS Caviar SE, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 8MB Cache, 8.9 ms (Raid 0)

Screen/Display:
x1 22" Viewsonic Q22wb Black LCD, 1680x1050, VGA/DVI, 5 ms, 900:1, 300 cd/m2, Widescreen, VESA

Case:
x1 Xclio A380 SuperTower Black with Window with 25cm Front Super Cooling Fan Screwless w/o PSU

PSU:
750W Xclio X12S4P4 Modular SLi U-Quiet 14cm Fan 87%+ Efficiency Quad+12v EPS 4SATA 4 PCI-E

Need a good air cooling too - not sure - Coolmaster? Will want to O/C system later on...

Total cost is around £1500

dsidious

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2006
It looks like money is not a serious object here. I'd go for a Q6600 or even a QX6700. It won't bring any benefit over the E6700 in some applications but in others it will wipe the floor with the E6700.

Maybe save some cash by getting the P5N32-E SLI instead of the Striker.

4 GB of RAM is overkill, unless you're willing to be a guinea pig for Vista. I'd stick with XP and 2 GB for this year.

MrOrange

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2007
Thanks for your reply dsidious,

I suppose if i forgo the additional 2gb of ram and put it towards cpu, then i could afford the entry level quad :

Intel Core 2 Quad-Core Q6600, 775, 2.40 GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 8MB Cache, Retail (£340)