Linksys Wireless-G pci Network Adapter with SpeedBooster?!

DevilesEye1088

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2006
Hi all,
Okey ill start of that im a big noob with linux, hoping to get something out of this post. I have a Linksys Wireless-G pci Network Adapter with SpeedBooster and im trying to run that card on auditor, backtrack and whax. I have no idea if there are any drivers for that card or i would have to buy Senao Prism 2 card. I've searched on line for drivers for that wireless card and i had no luck finding it.
What i'm trying to use linux for is mainly for Internet Security, Kismet, and cracking WEP code. If anyone has maybe some realy cool links on how to do all that i would be very thankfull!

Thanks guys hopefully you can help me find this darn driver thanks again!

DevilesEye (DAN)

bmouring

Distinguished
May 6, 2006
Please try to get us a little more info, namely the chipset in the wireless card. You can either try checking the manufacturer's site (make note of the revision number), or more easily just boot a liveCD and check the output of the lspci command. Open a terminal, type in "lspci". If nothing comes up or it complains about something, try "sudo lspci".

Generally speaking, however, the speed-boost and pre-N linksys stuff has pretty crummy support as Linksys isn't releasing specs or drivers. Well-supported chipsets include the newer Intel wireless (Intel Pro Wireless 2100 and later), Atheros, RaLink, and Prism 1/1.5/2 (the grandaddy wireless card in Linux, many security tools are written to work with this chipset family)

DevilesEye1088

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2006
here is what i got!

00:0d.0 Network Controller: Bradcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce one 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Linksys: Unkown device 0042
Control:I/O- mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastBZB
Status: Cap- 66Mhz- UDE- FastBZB- ParErr- DEVSEL= fast >TAbart- <MABart- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 32