Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Interesting question on how to install XP on a fresh drive..

Tags:
  • Windows XP
Last response: in Windows XP
January 23, 2007 3:55:59 AM

OK, I just finished building my PC, but I can't figure out how to install XP (don't stop reading, it isn't that easy).

I get XP Pro SP2 through the Microsoft Campus Agreement for free, since I'm a full time student, it's legit. Problem is, they can only provide it as a self extracting executable. I can't get it on a bootable cd.

I want to do a clean install, without installing a previous version of windows and then installing XP pro on top.

I have copies of:
XP home SP1 (dell version), bootable
WinME upgrade disk

I have Win98 and WinME startup disks. Neither of these disks will recognize my CD drive.

I have a bootable Ubuntu CD. If I boot with it, then try to switch CD's to the XP exe, it freezes.

I have my old hdd (IDE) with WinXP Pro SP2 on it, it brings up the menu saying windows didn't start correctly, do you want to start in safe mode, but it won't boot, it always restarts. Thought maybe I could just boot it up and use it to install XP onto my SATA drives. Can't put my new drives in the old computer, since it has no SATA.

The 6-disk set of windows xp boot floppies gets to "detecting hardware" and then reboots, it keeps doing this until I manually power off the computer.

So with what I have available, is there anyway I can do a fresh install? Or do I have to install XP home (will it even install? it's from dell)

Thanks for any ideas.

More about : interesting question install fresh drive

January 23, 2007 4:20:24 AM

How come you didn't get a student version cd?

FYI! You never have to install a previous Windows version first. You only have to present it to the cd drive when asked.

Can you download the executable to your machine?