Sign in with
Your question

Guide to setting up a small office network (~10 users)...

Last response: in Networking
April 10, 2007 6:53:50 PM

Hi All,

Either one of three things is true:

1. Google is broken
2. I'm a total noob
3. A guide for setting up a small office network (~10 users) doesn't exist

Please help me identify which (I have a sneaky feeling it's number 2...)

All I want to find out is: how do I setup an office network for about 10 users in the most cost effective and efficient way.

I've searched google for a guide and I can only find fragmented bits of info mostly covering either small home networks using windose XP or big networks using Server2003. The basic requirements for this network are:

- Printer sharing
- File sharing from central server
- Shared internet connection
- Email server (links to website mail server is possible)
- Allows users to connect remotely

Any help/links etc would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

More about : guide setting small office network users

April 10, 2007 7:46:54 PM

I'd suggest (since you're inexperienced at this) that you keep the email on a web mail server (perhaps provided by your ISP). If you don't REALLY have to set up an Exchange Server (for an internal email server) everything else is easy - just like a large home network.

What have you done so far?
April 10, 2007 7:59:46 PM

What are we working with? What OS on the computers, what equipment, etc?
Related resources
April 10, 2007 8:42:10 PM

So far what I'm working with is a blank piece of paper and a cheque book. The blank paper is in good supply, however the cheque book has limits!

We are just about to take an office for the first time. Previously we've all worked on laptops on site with the clients we work with. All laptops are XP and even though we are looking to replace some of them, we probably won't go Vista just yet.