Cannot OC C2D E6300 @ ABIT AB9Pro above 310 MHz - help!

fregimus

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2007
Everybody,

Asking for your help 'cause I am stuck trying to overclock a new system specially part-listed and built to be overclocked :cry:

I have no overclocking experience, but I am an experienced EE, and I used to build many computers by myself.

Here's what I have: ABIT AB9-Pro board (intel P965); BIOS v 1(?).17 (their Web site has .16, but their flasher program directly pulled up one higher). C2D E6300 6/F/L2, 4x1MB G.Skill DDR2-800, sold as 5-5-5-15. Koolance Exos (original) water cooler (used on my older P4/2.4 box that failed after 6 years of 24hr work). There's also a branded ATI X1800 board in the PCIx16 slot, but I have not installed a driver for it yet, and XP uses a framebuffer driver by default. No other boards are installed.

I followed all steps in the C2D OC guide in the stickie. Here's what the essential, reproducible (but pityful) result is.

The machine boots and works @default 272MHz, 24hr+ under the load test of 4 forever-looping .vbs scripts that pull up 100% load on both CPUs. Ambient t=19..23C. Tcores=38C, Twater=29C.

Test1: Goal - to stop one step short of raising Fclk. Disabled "Thermal control", "Limit CPUID", "CIE", "Exec disable bit", "Virualization", "EIST". Set RAM timing to 5-5-5-15, Command Rate=Auto. Up VCPU 1.325 to 1.375V, VDDR 2.0 to 2.1V, VMCH 1.25 to 1.40V, VICHIO 1.50 to 1.60V. Lowered RAM clock divisor to 5:4, so that RAM won't be overclocked. In this configuration it runs (still 272 MHz, 10 min. test: Ambient = 20C; Tcores=39C; TWater=31C).

Test2: Minor overclock. Raised Fclk to 320MHz. System booted, froze up before SpeedFan could be started. Second attempt, froze on log-on. Duh!

Test3: Lowered Fclk to 310MHz. It's buzzing for 3+ hours now: Tambient = 21C, TCores=42C, TWater=33C).