7.200 rpm vs 10.000 rpm in real life

yamahafj

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2007
Hi!

Getting a new computer together and am a bit fuzzy about going for a cheap 7.200rpm drive or a expensive 10.000rpm drive for my WIndows Vista to run on.

Is there a remarkable difference in real life speed between the two?

yamahafj

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2007
Thanks for the link - but as a newbie I don´t really understand all the numbers and tests. I mean the Raptor does´nt achive top marks in every test and I dunno which are the important ones.

:oops:

More interested in the real world experience outside the testlab. Any input there?

Thanks for the link - but as a newbie I don´t really understand all the numbers and tests. I mean the Raptor does´nt achive top marks in every test and I dunno which are the important ones.

:oops:

More interested in the real world experience outside the testlab. Any input there?

Generally, the Raptor series is significantly faster than average 7200 RPM drives. Especially if you have your OS loaded on one. I have four Raptors. Three 74GB and a fourth 150 GB edition I am currently about to use for the first time on a new system. They are considerabally faster. HTH.

Okay - maybe I will save up for a Raptor to run my OS on, then.

8)

Thanks for input!

I have found I can FEEL the difference using my systems equipped with Raptors. The system I'm on now has XP Pro installed on a 74GB Raptor and Vista HP32 on a 7200 rpm WD 250 GB drive. The Raptor drive is much faster. I think they are worth the money especially if you can find one on sale.

MagicWok

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2007
Just to let you know, since you say you're fairly new to all of this.

The Raptor is more noisier than standard HDD's, due to the main fact it runs 10,000rpm as is basically a SCSI Enterprise HDD in disguise.

Just thought I'd let you know. Samsung also do great, fst 7,200RPM drives, and are well known for being very quiet.

yamahafj

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2007