New HDD, but How do I Install it without losing any Data?

OutsideShooter

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2007
I've read sticky post FAQ: Switching Storage Controllers w/o Reinstalling Windows. but that's not quite what I want to do. It states:

What You Can and Cannot Do With This Guide

This guide is NOT for adding another drive or controller to an existing system when the Windows installation doesn't move from it's existing controller.

Here's what I want to do: Replace the factory 160GB Seagate with a 500GB Seagate keeping all I have on their now.

I have just today received 3 new HDD, 2- 320GB & 1- 500 GB IDE, all Seagate 7200.10 perpendicular.

I currently have factory installed in my Sony Vaio Desktop a single 160GB Seagate & it is 77% full.

1. My plan is to replace the 160GB with the 500GB internal while using both 320's as backup only, external, not in a case. I only want them plugged in when I need to do a backup. But I always want to do a double backup. Reason is I am a photographer & if I lose photos I lose potential photo sales. Using the 500GB internal allows me to load very large software applications for photo editing & many photos for working on in minimum file sizes of 50MB each.

2. When backing up would I need a specific back up software application or could I get by with the Windows backup utility? I forget exactly where that is right now, but I think I can find it again.

Again I am very concerned about losing any of my photos as I am about to begin marketing my photos for sale, but all this needs to be done first. Is it possible to move all data straight over to the new drive? What are my options?

Thanks for any help you can give me. I'm a newbie but I have been reading a bit.

Rich

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006