Suggestions for gathering WC components...

JDawggS316

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2007
I am new to water cooling, but am looking to build an extremely cool rig(figuretively and literally).

I have heard that purchasing WC Kits is like buying a box of tinker toys. So, with that in mind (and please correct me if I'm wrong), what is the best setup of WC components you use (or can think of) for the best cooling for my CPU (and possibly VGA etc.).

Thanks so much

chuckshissle

Splendid
Feb 2, 2006
Here's my suggestions:

Pump: Swiftech MCP655

CPU water block: Swiftech Storm (revision 2)

Radiator: DangerDen BlackIce Extreme III

Swiftech Rad Box. To secure the radiator in place. Pick a color.

Tubing: PrimoFlex 1/2" inch inner diameter, 3/4" outer diameter tubing. At least order 20 feet of this tubing to make sure you have enough and for future upgrades.

As for your reservoir, I suggest you use the T-split since it's simple cheap and easy to implement. Here's what you need.

T-splitter 1/2" inner diameter tubing from Frozencpu.com.

Fill port: Danger Den 1/2" inner diameter fill port and cap.

And to secure the tubings you can use zip ties/ cable ties. You can use some 3/4" inner diameter reusable tubing clamps but they are pain to take off. I recommend ties for easy installation and removal with clippers.

Coolant. I suggest you use them non-electrical conductive coolants to protect your system in case of leaks and accidents. It's thermal properties is not as good as the car coolant/distilled water mixture and the difference is about 1-2 degrees celcius but it's worth it with it's non-electrical conductive properties.

Non-electrical conductive coolants:

Fluid XP+ High Performance Non-Conductive 32 oz. Liquid Cooling Fluid

Innovatek Protect 1 Liter Non-Conductive Water Cooling Fluid

PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Liquid Cooling Fluid (32 oz.)