• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 8 100.0%

• Total voters

wag2639

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2007
Hi, my friend showed me on SlickDeals a deal for a $400 Dell E520.

Basic specs are crap: Pent D, 512mb ram, basic other stuff.
The reason I'm interested, for $50 more and a total of $450 /w S&H, it includes a 20" Widescreen LCD and brand new system with WinXP.

As for ram, hd, cd drives, graphics card, I'm hoping I can get those for $200 - $300 from newegg.

Heres the kicker, I'm new and need help but not a total newb. I know Pent D sucks but I read that the processor could be upgraded to a Core 2 Duo which seems like a good thing to do in August when the prices drop even more. Can anyone confirm this and tell me how to do it?

Also more importantly, is this a good idea? I'm worried about compatibility limitations, PSU requirements, I'm too lazy to deal with water cooling, and some other things I havn't even thought of yet. And if it is a good idea, any recommendation, video card suggestions?

My thinking is I was going to upgrade an older P4 computer I have at home for around $200 and still get a $200 LCD, but after seeing this, for $200 more ($600 total), I could get a brand new system? I'm very tempted to build a system from scratch but any system I build with cost at least 1.5k and I'm saving for a really good tablet.

Thanks.

Hi, my friend showed me on SlickDeals a deal for a $400 Dell E520.

Basic specs are crap: Pent D, 512mb ram, basic other stuff.
The reason I'm interested, for $50 more and a total of $450 /w S&H, it includes a 20" Widescreen LCD and brand new system with WinXP.

As for ram, hd, cd drives, graphics card, I'm hoping I can get those for $200 - $300 from newegg.

Heres the kicker, I'm new and need help but not a total newb. I know Pent D sucks but I read that the processor could be upgraded to a Core 2 Duo which seems like a good thing to do in August when the prices drop even more. Can anyone confirm this and tell me how to do it?