Sign in with
Your question

I'm joining the club - A few questions

Tags:
  • Linux
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
February 18, 2007 5:01:05 AM

I finally decided to bite the bullet and go Linux.

There's a few reasons why, I'm hoping maybe someone can agree with my reasoning and kind of give user experience to help support my choices-

1) I want to get back into the habit of learning, and ever since I started playing World of Warcraft (Quit about 3-4 months ago) I couldn't get myself back into the habit of motivating myself to do things. Most notably my huge hiatus from school. I feel like learning how to use Linux will get me into the habit of confronting problems and fixing them with community support because if I want to finish school and succeed in my life alone, I need to learn how to stop relying on user-friendly solutions.

2) I almost bit the bullet and bought Vista, and I still might. The bottom line is, I would rather feel like it's my choice and not like I'm cornered into doing it. I think of Linux as a scenic route to a city I want to move to, that has rocky roads at first but once you get into it, you get beautiful scenery and the ability to deal with issues like flat tires, car trouble and even help other people, which always feels good. Windows is the short, fast boring route that has a fee of $150-300 that you feel like you're being forced to take.

3) I am going to have two hard-drives anyway, so having a separate Windows XP partition will solve my gaming problems, until I can learn how to successfully port Windows games on Linux using Wine on my own, or even see the game support on Linux grow. I also heard there's going to be XSOS that's going to have Direct X10 support. I'm looking forward to that or having the experience with Linux enough to be comfortable to go that route. I figure I wouldn't want to go the Vista route until 2 years from now anyway.