can i safely OC an e6600 - with very high ambient temps?

betrayer_

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2006
I want to oc my e6600 and i'm a complete noob. Also because i live in tropical climate high temps are an issue.

here are my temps

tcase: 33c (idle) : 53c-56c (load)

tjucntion:
core0: 46c (idle) : 65c-67c (load)
core1: 46c (idle) : 66c-69c (load) -> sometimes 3c higher than core0

Ambient = 32c
Chipset = 965
C2D = E6600
CPU Cooler= Titan Vanessa L-Type with 120mm fan
Frequency = 2.4 Ghz
Load = TAT @ 100% 10 minutes
Motherboard = Gigabyte DS4
Vcore = 1.250

So... can i safely oc this?

Those are some pretty high temps for stock speed. Those look more like what it should be on a nice Overclock. The ambient temo plays a BIG part. I know i see a 6-8C different from my room and at my buddies basement for his montly Lan party. That cooler doesn't look all that great, no offense. I would look into a much better cooler. Check out the review on Tom's and also Anantech anc pick a top performer. You are looking for something that has alot of surface area which will help you dispurs the heat better. I have the Thermalright Ultra-120 and is probably one of the best only being beat by the eXtreme edition Ultra-120. Get a good fan and you are set.

To give you an example of my setup in the winter on my cooler in my room im idleing at about 46-50C and a week the other day the temps were 85F which is about 30C my idle temps were 48-52C. And this is with my fan running at about 800-1000rpms ( i turn everything down on my fan control exept while gaming). On load with my fan at 2000RPMs I hot about 65C on 100% TAT full load. And that is with a 1.4125 vcore.