Sign in with
Your question

Top 3 MOBO's to OC (Details inside)

Last response: in Overclocking
April 27, 2007 1:55:35 PM

Ok... I am completely new to OCing but don't want to stay that way... so I plan on making a picture by picture guide to OCing the TOP 3 MOBO's

here are the other items

most likely the 1.8-2.4 C2D processor
Ram 533...unless that will "bottleneck?" the system then i'll boost it up to the next highest... <--no idea what im saying here...
Need suggestion on heat sink not stock one...but nothing ridiculously expensive cuz let's face it whats the point then of saving money on the proc?
No SLI (i dont even know how to do things like OC... i'll wait on the SLI boards til I get more exp)

so blast away any really popular MOBO's that I can do this with? if you need more info just ask and I'll post my reply once I get the three I'll start with my picture by picture OC (being my first time too)

jae
mlb
April 27, 2007 2:21:16 PM

Get ddr2-800 ram, it'll be much easier to oc then if you use 533. The choices of hsf depend on your definition of "expensive", the best air coolers around right now cost around $50. The Thermalright Ultra 120+, Tuniq Tower 120 and the Thermalright Ultra 120 are all excellent coolers. The top 3 mobos off the top of my head are: Asus P5B Deluxe, Asus P5W DH Deluxe, Gigabyte DS3. Well, those are the most popular oc'ing boards. There are many more superb mobos out there, the Intel Bad Axe series, the Asus Commando, the Gigabyte DQ6, DFI Infinity 975X/G, Asus Striker Extreme, there are just too many awesome boards to pick just 3.
April 28, 2007 7:15:03 PM

i will be ocing them and putting up picture by picture guides i was asking which ones... thanks =)
Related resources
April 30, 2007 11:53:17 AM

Quote:
Ok... I am completely new to OCing but don't want to stay that way... so I plan on making a picture by picture guide to OCing the TOP 3 MOBO's

here are the other items

most likely the 1.8-2.4 C2D processor