Comp restarts random, pwr button 5 sec doesn't shut down?

I_coNer

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2005
Hi there.
I'm not a computer newbie, I've assembled my own system and have had it overclocked where it ran perfectly stable for about a month. My specs are the following;

C2D E6600 @ 1.325v
2GB Crucial Ballistix PC-5300 DDRII
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Chill Innovation 520W
Leadtek px7600GT

Lately my system just started rebooting at random times. It does this even if the computer is just idling in bios. At some point it just restarts. I thought this could be due to the extremely hot temps we have where I live atm so I completely reset the cpu, ram and mobo to default speed and settings. This didn't help. It still reboots, and I've monitored my cpu temps - they're completely fine.

After I reset my bios settings, the system now won't shut down at all either. Holding the power button for 5-10 seconds doesn't shut down the system like it used to,but instead it restarts the system after the 5 seconds and then it just keeps being in the pre-boot state (all fans etc on full power, but no image on the monitor or hdd activity) - after it goes into this state I have to push the power button (again) and THEN it goes into the boot state. The same thing happens if I choose "shut down" from windows, it just restarts into this pre-boot state where every fan is at 100% - before the pc began restarting randomly, it would go into this state for a few seconds and THEN by itself go into the boot state, when i resatarted but it doesn't now..

I read that it might have something to do with ACPI settings in my bios - but I'm not sure what to change tbh. I just can't understand why holding my pwr button for 5-10 seconds doesn't restart the system?

I ran memtest sucessfully for 1 hour with no errors. tried replacing the memory modules and it still reboots so they seem to be not the problem with the random restarts.