Sign in with
Your question

NO BSOD Virus,Spyware, etc.YET??????

Last response: in Windows XP
March 9, 2007 9:31:57 PM

Ok, i have been running Windows XP Home for about two to three years and I still have not even gotten a Virus,Spyware, BSOD, or any other OS related problems. Is this possible? I have kept an up to date copy of all my data, so losing data is not a problem,(Daily back up to a External 150GB HD). I have not herd from any one running XP who has not had problems for 3 years. Is it possible there is some thing wrong, such as a hidden Virus,etc that gives me false information about Virus status?

Here are the software I use:

Firefox 2.0(Rarely use IE7)
AVG 7.5
Trend Micro PC Cillin
SpyBot S&D
Acronis True Image 10 (Back UP)
CCleaner
AusLogic Defrag
Paint.NET
VB.NET Express
PCMark2005
Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 6.0b, ACID XMC 6.0, DVD Archetect Studio 3.0 [All Solny Software listed above)
PhotoShop CS2, Acrobat, Flash, Shockwave.
AVS DVD Player
HP Printer Software
Call of Duty2
Halo CE
DOOM III
Office 2003 and Office 2007

*All Software and Windows is up to date*

These are all the software I am running on this rig. Surprised that I still have not had any problems with XP :o  . Any one else have run XP for over 3+ years with out problems? Just curious to know. :D 

More about : bsod virus spyware

March 10, 2007 12:14:09 AM

Yes, that is perfectly possible. With some regular maintenance and an understanding of where virus' come from and how to avoid them, XP is a very good operating system.

I also have never had a virus detected or spyware on my XP rig. I don't recall every having it crash either. I always use well known software and I stay away from file sharing programs such as Kazaa. I also defragment my hard drive and clean my registry on occasion.

Once you get into file sharing, cracks and things of that nature, you are in for a rough ride. People tend to blame that on XP.