Which OCZ memory to use for E6600 overclock?

yellowb

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2007
I'm in the process of buying a new processor and RAM, and I have never done the overclocking process before. I have read quite a bit about how to overclock and I think I understand the process for the most part. I would like to take my e6600 and overclock to 3.6 Ghz, or 400 FSB. I am looking at buying OCZ PC2 6400 and 800 Hz, which comes in gold and platinum. They suggest Platinum for overclocking and gold for gaming. By doing the math, overclocking the e6600 to 400 FSB would be at operating frequency for the 2Gb OCZ, 800 Hz. Since the RAM would be at operating frequency at 400 FSB, I would assume that there would be no need to overclock the memory or change any of the frequency for the RAM. If this is the case, could I just use the OCZ Gold since RAM overclocking would not be necessary? Also, would using the standard heatsync/fan for the e6600 be sufficient cooling to overclock to 3.6Ghz if the memory does not need to be overclocked? I will be using a P5b Deluxe Wifi board and a geforce 7950gt graphics card if that information is needed. Thanks for any help.

goldragon_70

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2007
6400 will give you less problems with overclocking, and My E6600 was running at 80c to 83c on stock settings at full load with stock cooler, so I suggest you get a good 3rd party cooler Just in case.

goldragon_70

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2007
The newest version of core temp I could find at the time, and another software that I only had for trail (sorry I can't remember what it was called).

Problem is Tat won't run period and never has, even from first build, and SpeedFan never finds any temps other then my hard drive.

dr_kuli

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2007
CoreTemp 0.95 might be off about 15C.
http://www.alcpu.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=35

In case you're too busy to read all: