Expert help needed badly, Throttling Problem

Ihab

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2003
Aloha guys

I will try to make a long story short.

I download lots of stuffs using torrent clients. At first I had some NAT problems with Azureus but it was easy to repair. Then I shifted to Utorrent, the perfect client ever, and life was so easy afterwards.

I have been using the same desktop computer since a couple of years together with 3com OfficeConnect ADSL Wireless 11g Firewall Router.

Till a couple of days, everything was fine as usual. Then I moved the computer to my new home. And now the problem begins.

It should be mentioned that the telephone service provider and the ADSL service provider are the same for my old and my new home. So basically, there was no need to change any settings in the router or in the TCP/IP settings.

When I hooked the router to the computer, I had no connection. I tried to tweak around for a while but in vain. So I called my ADSL service provider and we fixed it through resetting the router and it finally worked.

My contract with the ADSL company has always been and still is 1024 kbps / 256 kbps, which means I download at a speed range from 100 to 120 kbps and I upload at 25 to 30 kbps. And by the way, this is very expensive where I live.

Anyway, the problem was solved and I was able to be back online. But a new problem was raised.... I can ONLY DOWNLOAD and UPLOAD AT 1/2 speed and this applies not only to Utorrent but also to any download.... I checked back my hardware connections, the router settings, the IP addresses.... etc... everything was fine.

I tried everything you can imagine.... Enabling and disabling the windows firewall router.... Enabling and disabling the router's firewall.... I tried to forward the ports for Utorrent .... Tried to set up a static IP address.... nothing managed to rise up the speed back to what it should be.