Very first build, would love advice on setup I'm considering

BryanHilt

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2007
Hello all!

I am brand new to building PCs and am considering building my first one. Tom’s Hardware has been a fantastic site to learn from, but holy crap is there a lot of information to digest, especially for a complete neophyte.

I have a few specific questions following the list of gear I’m considering buying, but if anyone has any general advice or wants to disabuse me of any dangerous assumptions I’m making, I would certainly not complain.

Anyway, here’s the setup I was considering for the gaming rig I’d like to build:

Motherboard: EVGA 122-CK-NF68-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13GHz
Video Card: DIAMOND X1950XT256PCIE Radeon X1950XT
Memory: Patriot eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Hard Drive: 2 X Western Digital Caviar SE WD2000JS 200GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case: Antec Performance One P150 White Steel ATX Mini Tower
Power Supply: (Comes with Case) 430-Watt ATX12V v2.2

Specific Questions:

1. Does it make sense to get a motherboard that supports ram up to DDR2 1200, as the model I have listed does, even though I'm only getting DDR2 800 ram? I figure this will make the board last longer as I won’t need to upgrade it when I need to upgrade my ram.

2. I was thinking I’d set up my two hard drives as a RAID 0. RAID is still slightly confusing to me, but it looks like the EVGA motherboard I have listed has an integrated RAID controller, and setting up RAID 0 would be cheaper, much higher capacity, and (basically) faster than getting a 150 Gig Raptor. Is this all correct? And is setting this up difficult, something I probably shouldn’t be attempting with my very first build?