Is this RAM compatible with this mother board ?

techembrace

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2007
I am a newbie, buidling a Core2Duo (with E4300) for the first time. I am not planning to overclock- and doesn't play any games. I bought this RAM (Crucial ballistic 2x1GB, PC2-6400, DDR2/800, 4-4-4-12/2.2V). I am wondering this will be compatible with this mobo ( GIGABYTE GA-965GM-S2 LGA 775 Intel G965 Express Micro ATX Intel Motherboard). My concern is NewEgg's discloure on the product page:
"Only DDR2-800 memory supporting JEDEC approved 1.8V operation with timings of 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 is supported on Intel Desktop Boards based on Intel 965 Express Chipsets."
Does this mean that since my RAM has a 4-4-4, it doesn't work with this mobo ?. Thanks,

samsayit

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2007
According to Crucial, the BL2KIT12864AA804 is compatible. Is that the model you bought?

Timings 4-4-4-12 with the voltage of 2.2.

I would guess, if Crucial says it will work, it will.
Your mobo will likely default to 5-5-5-15 and 1.8x voltage - in that case you will have to manually override to 4-4-4-12 and 2.2 voltage.
Take the voltage seriously, I missed it at first on my system and had major instability problems, until I set the correct voltage.

samsayit

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2007
And by the way, the disclaimer you refer to:
"Only DDR2-800 memory supporting JEDEC approved 1.8V operation with timings of 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 is supported on Intel Desktop Boards based on Intel 965 Express Chipsets."

Where did you see that - on the memory product page or the motherboard page?
Sounds belony - never heard of that limitation and I cannot but believe many are running 4-4-4-12 on this chipset which is very popular!
What could be meant is that there is this limitation on motherboards from specifically Intel (which is called Intel Desktop Boards) with the G965. But this would make sense only if the disclaimer was listed on the memory product page.

techembrace

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2007