Confused !!!!

AngusHades

Distinguished
May 23, 2006
G'day everyone sorry i'm new to the "writing in the forms thing" I have a BFG 680I board and i was just wondering why is that sometimes when i restart i can not us my USB kb in bootup I can't access bios , the usb starts to work when windows has loaded .i have the newest bios and all and i aint no noob at building a pc or ocing them. I just don't understand why it does this. Anyhelp would be great.

Thanks

I keep a PS2 kb laying around for instances like this. When I've reset/update the BIOS on other machines, I've had to use a PS2 kb to enter the BIOS so I could enable any USB options.

According your mobo manual on page 57, under the Integrated Peripherals Menu, you can enable/disable the onboard USB as well as USB support for the mouse and keyboard. So, RTFM!

Also, make sure the BIOS jumper is set properly and save any and all changes before exiting the BIOS.

AngusHades

Distinguished
May 23, 2006
Mate i'm not retarded , like i said i'm not a noob. Offcourse i have that on in the bios , i said it happends sometimes for no reason, like after a couple of restarts i can't get access to the bios screen for no reason. The usb kb don't work and this is my seconed one....before you ask. Same thing with my old one. mx5000, now i'm using a G11

orangegator

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2007
I don't know what the reason for this is, but I had the same problem with my old Dell 8100. The usb keyboard was only recognized after windows started. The only way for me to have the computer recognize the keyboard before windows started was to unplug all usb devices except for the keyboard. Then I could use it to access the bios. I suspect it had something to do with the the keyboard not getting enough power when the computer booted with other things connected. So, unplug all usb devices except for your keyboard and see if you can get to the bios.

Stewartwi

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2006