System Restore doesn't overwrite those - only changes system files.
I'm guessing the account was corrupted and it created a new user for your friend. If you go under C:\Documents And Settings\ you'll probably see her user account .. say user.computername and then you'll see username.
The user.computername is the new account.
The stuff is still there, just have to move it.