Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Vista 64bit - I'm taking the plunge...

Last response: in Windows Vista
April 30, 2007 1:58:55 PM

Read the debates, really struggled hard with this one for months. I'm not an OS expert (I guess I can go to websites and download drivers, but that I can't fool around with code).

My biggest concerns are compatibility, functionality, and security. The 4GB limit on 32bit was the driving force for my decision... 2GBs seems the norm/sweet spot today, but I wouldn't be surprised if most folks are looking to be around 4GBs+ in a 1-2years. Especially with high quality RAM sticks dropping in price and new demanding apps coming out.

I'll have it in a few days, and i'll let you guys know my experience. Plus I'm sure I run into a ton of issues.

Wish me luck - I'll need it.

Any other plungers? Feel free to add your experience here!
April 30, 2007 10:41:32 PM

Only have a few complaints:

The MCE interface is still "broken" on 64-bit due to problems with 64-bit Flash. What this means is that third-party plug-ins and quite a few of the MCE front-end apps won't work or will have limited use. If you didn't use MCE 2005 and the plugins such as My Movies, Weather, etc -you won't miss it. MS is supposed to have a patch at some point.

Some drivers are still not ready - even for current parts. With 32-bit Vista, some seem to be able to use the older XP drivers, but in 64-bit you're SOL until the drivers are released. So, make sure there are drivers for all of your equipment - including printers, scanners, MMC readers, etc.

Also, I have an HDTV Wonder card - it's not officially supported by AMD/ATI for Vista, but it does work with MS driver updates. However, it won't work with more than 2GB installed.