Strange HD Tach graph or normal?

babaghan

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2007
This is the drive where my OS & Page File are located using a 3ware RAID controller with the system described below. I'm very new to using HD Tach and something tells me the graph shouldn't have so many peaks and valleys or is this normal? Does this look right to you guys?

Capture1.jpg

Capture.jpg

Vista 32bit | Core 2 Duo E6600 | BFG GeForce 8800 GTX | Patriot EP 2X1GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-9 | 3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID Controller with BBU | 150GB Raptor x2 RAID 0 - OS/Swap | 150GB Raptor x2 RAID 0 - Data | 150GB Raptor - Backup | SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro Series | Dell E207WFP & Samsung SyncMaster 213T | Asus Striker Extreme | PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR | Silverstone Temjin TJ07 | Zalman CNPS9700 NT | 3DMark06: 9705

joex444

Distinguished
Did you run a Long benchmark? It's the only one that really counts...

The average of 131MB/s sounds about right for a pair of Raptors.

Here's my HDTach set to run a Long benchmark on a 4 drive RAID10, which is identical to what it was in a 2 drive RAID0 before I got the other 2.

RAID10 HDTach. An average of 92MB/s for Seagate 7200.10s. Your raptors are about 40MB/s higher, as expected.

Just for fun: RAID5 HDTach. RAID5 appears to be very good at HDTach boasting 192MB/s average. Both are from the same set of drives, using Matrix RAID.

babaghan

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2007
I ran the quick bench - 8MB. I was just worried that the graph looked strange. I'll make sure to run the long benchmark next time. What's the significant difference between the two?

joex444

Distinguished
The 8MB benchmark isn't as accurate. It'll end up with, well, with big spikes and uneven looking curves.

The 32MB benchmark should be smoother, like the RAID5 image. I'm a little curious myself why the RAID10 looks as it does. If you excuse my geekness, it looks like gaussian wave packets occuring at a regular period...

bberson

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2006