Buying Components bits at a time...Need Advice Please!

I'm a newbie getting ready to build my first computer. I've spent about a year here lurking and reading up and the information that I've learned has really boosted my confidence. (I was originally going to buy instead of build...)

I won't be building immediately - maybe in the next 3-6 months at earliest, or maybe even a bit longer. I've been keeping track of prices for the last year and would like to buy components when deals come up that I can't refuse. However, I've noticed a seemingly serious drawback to that. What if I purchase something like RAM, Power Supply, etc. and it arrives DOA - since I'm not putting it together right away I would never know. As such, I can imagine it's not a very good idea to buy parts a little at a time.

New Egg has CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) for $101 after a $30 mail-in rebate. When I first started watching the price of this ram it ranged from $299-$317 and it was $234 as recent as February! So I really don't want to miss this 'while supplies last' pricing, but I'm worried about receiving defective RAM and not knowing it until some time later.

So that's the background...here are the questions:

1. Do you see buying in stages as a serious drawback? (Afterall, I could always wait until I'm ready and then buy everything together at whatever prices are available at the time...)

2. Is there a way to purchase things like RAM or a Power Supply and have them tested at a local PC shop? Would a PC Shop be able to tell without a doubt if the parts were good (and if they are good, can I assume they'll be good when I install them after sitting a few months without being used)?

3. For the PS, would purchasing a PS tester with it be a reliable way to know myself it was good or not?

I'm looking for as much feedback into this as possible and thank you in advance for your time. Please help me out here!