Windows98 does NOY shut down sometimes

status1

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2009
Hello,
I am using windows98 and I noticed that sometimes when I try to shut it down it doesn't It's just stays there at the screen that says "windows is shutting down" but it doesn't actually shut down so I have to hold the power button to shut it down then of course I have to wait for the scandisk to check for errors since I did not shut it down properly
I tried to put it in standby mode and while the screen went off the pc was still on I am not sure if this is normal since I have never used standby before
When I hit a key to come out of standby I got a message saying that it cannot go into standby because some driver is still active Of course it doesn't tell me which driver it is doing it.

Is there a way to find out what is running in the background that would keep windows from shutting down ?

Is there a command perhaps that I can use to force it to shut down ?

Detaill

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2009
You can download Sysinterals process explorer for free just type the name into your favorite seach. It shows every process runnig on your pc. or hit ctrl alt delete
keys at the same time when its trying to shutdown and the and the offending program display in the task manager. No ideas on the sleep issue.

Detaill

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2009
Excuse my typing on the last note , I was called away a couple times. I also had a shutdown problem on my 98 system with the same behavior sometimes with fatal errors and it was caused by a virus , once it was removed it ran good again.

status1

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2009
Hello,
Thank you for the reply
I downloaded the file you suggested but it doesn't seem to do anything
It's just another process that is added to the list but there is no window or message that pops up that tells me what is running in the background