Sign in with
Your question

VISTA WON'T DIE!

Last response: in Windows Vista
June 21, 2007 5:55:53 PM

:evil: 
Yes!!! I WANT TO KILL IT!!!
But Gateway won't let me. VISTA came pre-installed on a new laptop.
I wiped the hard drive with dban. When I tried installing my XP Pro, it said that the program was not being allowed to access the hard drive. I suspect Host Protected Area is to blame. Blancco demo software wouldn't erase HPA. The full version of Blancco cost more than a new hard drive.
Though I'd like to be sure a new drive will take care of the problem.
Gateway refused to help...saying the contract only calls for VISTA support.
Anyone got a clue about what I can do?

VISTA has cut production in my little graphics enterprise by at least 60%. Hours on the phone with MS techs to solve simple problems. I'm not a programmer. I DON'T HAVE TIME FOR THIS!
Help me, Obewan...wherever you are!

More about : vista die

June 21, 2007 6:58:13 PM

Heh.

What OS are you trying to install? You could boot to your XP CD, delete the partitions and then install whatever.. I assume XP.
m
l
June 21, 2007 7:31:14 PM

Riser,
Machine came with VISTA pre-installed. But after I erased hard drive, I was not able to install XP Pro, which said it was not being permitted to access the hard drive. I followed the instructions in XP for deleting partitions, but it won't do it.

Thanx
m
l
Related resources
June 21, 2007 8:15:28 PM

Boot from a floppy and erase all partitions using fdisk. You can also remove the hard disk and place it on another pc. Then, you can wipe it completely.

I know one thing. Vista is not immortal. I saw to that several times already. :x
m
l
June 21, 2007 10:05:41 PM

TD,
I'll give it a shot tomorrow and report back.
Thanx
m
l
June 22, 2007 4:05:50 AM