8 Core (2 cpu) system advice?

Shaolin23

Distinguished
May 7, 2007
Hi there all,

I need some advice on building an 8 core (2 cpu) system to be used as a 3D machine here at work. As I don't really know what options are available, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

PCAnalyst

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2006
As there are still so few applications to utilize even 4 cores... this question may be a bit difficult to answer.

Since there is more than likely a 3 to 5 year lag from software companies to catch up to multi-multi core set-ups... I would say you should base your new system on price.

I am no expert here... I have a quad core... and it does not get utilized fully...Ever!

I can see that may change in the coming quarters in the gaming sector... I just can't make a recommendation on a non server 8 core system.

If you plan on it being a server as well... then you may get more out of it.

Sorry I have little to offer here.

Shaolin23

Distinguished
May 7, 2007
Thanks for the quick reply. I too was a little stumped when my boss asked me to investigate the 8 core setup. Prior to that, I priced out a "mid-range" 3D box with a good blend of performance balanced with price. Maybe I could get your thoughts on the configuration?

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 CPU
Asus P5W64 WS Professional Motherboard
OCZ (OCZ2VU8004GK) DDR2 PC2-6400 800Mhz 2x2GB RAM
Western Digital Raptor SATA (WD1500ADFD) HardDrive
PNY NVIDIA Quadro FX 1500 Professional Video Edition Vid Card

Thanks very much!

Not sure exactly how much detail you're looking for, so here are some general ideas and specs.

The only option available on the market now to built a 2spu 8 core workstation is the quad core Xeon Clovertown/Kentsfield processors. The lower end 1.6GHz 1066fsb E5310 sells for about $350USD with the higher end X5355 1333fsb 2.66GHz selling for about $1150USD.

You can get motherboards from Tyan, Supermicro, Asus, etc and they sell anywhere from $350 to $500USD.