Sign in with
Your question

Linux on a mac...

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
July 25, 2007 10:48:34 AM

My friend has a mac and I'm trying to convert him to Linux, what I wanna do is put in a different hard drive and install Fedora PPC on it, then if he doesn't like it just pop the old hard drive back in, my 2 questions are:

1. If I don't do anything to the old hard drive and just install Fedora on the new one, will it screw anything up or can I just put the old drive back in and everything will be as it was...I know that's probably a stupid question but I'm a complete noob to Macs

2. Is there anything special I'll need to know to install Fedora? As in, can I just pop in the disc and it will boot it, or will I have to change the boot order(do macs even have a normal BIOS?)

As I said I'm a complete noob to Macs, and I've been using Linux for a while now but I'm still no expert.

More about : linux mac

July 25, 2007 11:42:32 PM

Bump

nobody has an answer to this??
July 26, 2007 3:57:36 AM

I really don't have any experience on macs, but I will attempt to help you here. I think that macs should have some sort of BIOS that you can manipulate since the BIOS is kinda what tells the computer how to boot up.

Also, why do you feel it necessary to remove the hard drive? What I would do if I were doing something similar on a friend's computer is that I would just install the new hard drive, make sure that it is working properly under their primary OS first, and then I would install linux onto the new hard drive. What you can do then is partition that hard drive so that you have a /boot partition and during the fedora installation, tell it to install GRUB to the /boot partition and then mess around w/ the configuration and add their first OS to GRUB in addition to linux. Then of course you would have to adjust the bios to boot from the second hard drive so that the GRUB bootloader can do its thing.