Rebooting problem driving me nuts..

grndnatnl

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2006
I work on computers for a living, but this has me stumped. Having a random restarting, apparently due to memory dumps in Windows (according to event logs and dmp files), and I am completely unable to isolate anything as the culprit.

Whenever I'm playing a game (ie: CS:S, LOTRO, etc) I get random mem dumps. The machine freezes for a second or two, clicks, then just blanks out and reboots. It may not do it for 2 or 3 hours, then all of the sudden hiccup. Usually after the first time, it does it again shortly after. This happens repeatedly.

I've run a crapload of hardware diagnostics multiple times and have had zero failures. Suspected RAM first, ran Memtest86 a few times, including about 10hrs straight yesterday (32 passes) and no problems. Even brought home a new pair of 512's to test and it still acted up. So that pretty much rules the RAM out.

I ran a couple video RAM tests that all passed, and 3DMark 05 -and- 06 both ran through the basic test fine. I had the issue with both my old PSU and my new 430W Thermaltake. HDD tests out fine for read/write/stress. CPU stress tests fine. It's definitely not a heat issue. I have no frickin clue whats left.

I'm beginning to suspect the motherboard. Does this seem like the only remaining possibility? If so, I'm about to just upgrade mobo/CPU/RAM anyway. Any suggestions or advice appreciated. TIA

grndnatnl

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2006
Anyone?? Below is the dumpcheck log file. Appears to be Southbridge? So should this tip me off that it's a bad motherboard?

dump.jpg

The-Darkening

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2006
Mmmmm... There are a lot of sound related files. I would suggest you that you disable automatic reboot of the system to see any blue screens that may appear.

Alternatively, you may try to disable the sound card in the BIOS and see what happens.

I'm pretty sure the issue is within the Mobo, but maybe is a driver problem.

grndnatnl

Distinguished