Sign in with
Your question

How Can I Get Linux?

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
November 6, 2007 9:49:54 AM

Hello!

We'll obviously im a newb at computers, especially software, id say my hardwares alright. been doing research for about 4 months on hardware to get a nice setup. i've seen linux beryl on youtube, and it looks just sick.

I have a 10krpm 76gb hard drive (windows vista home premium)
and 7.2krpm 500gb hard drive (just random storage and stuff)

could i get linux beryl on my second hard drive without deleting my files? i gues i would need to learn more about linux as it is. could anyone help me? linux is an operating system right? i hear its very complex and noobs should stay out, but im planning to learn. what should i be careful of? i'm a risk taker, but i have my limits. i dont wanna screw anything up and cause perma damage on anything. could anyone gimme a simple walk through? thanks!

More about : linux

a b 5 Linux
November 6, 2007 3:06:45 PM

Yes definitely!

Linux is indeed an operating system and a pretty good one.

It has it's flaws and can be a little intimidating at first but it's getting better and easier by the day.

You can shrink your windows partition on your 500GB drive and install Linux on the space you free up.

Before you shrink anything it's a good idea to backup your important files.

Better safe than sorry.

Head over to http://mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu-releases/7.10/ and download

http://mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu-releases/7.10/ubuntu-7...

or

http://mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu-releases/7.10/ubuntu-7...

depending on your hardware

check the md5sums using an md5 tool http://www.openoffice.org/dev_docs/using_md5sums.html

if they match the corresponding checksum in this file http://mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu-releases/7.10/MD5SUMS you're good to go!