Sign in with
Your question

Hot air coming out of pc what do i do

Last response: in Components
May 10, 2007 12:43:51 AM

well today it was about 90 degrees outside and very hot in my upstairs room. well anyway i was doing a little bit of gaming today and relized that my pc was very hot, then i took my temp gun and put it by the air coming out from the 120mm fan in the back and it said 98.9 degrees F! i then felt the air and boy o boy it was warm. i have a coolermaster centurion 5 with a 80mm in the front and a 120mm in the back. in the pc there is a biostar 945p motherboard a Pentium D 820 not overclocked and a 8800gts. so what sould i do to lower temps or should i just consider a new case.

More about : hot air coming

May 10, 2007 12:46:53 AM

What are the CPU/GPU temps?

Not much you can do in a really hot room. Maybe when gaming during hot days, pop the side off your case and put a house fan on low so it blows a little air in there.
May 10, 2007 1:05:07 AM

Quote:
What are the CPU/GPU temps?

Not much you can do in a really hot room. Maybe when gaming during hot days, pop the side off your case and put a house fan on low so it blows a little air in there.

Agreed. I'm not really familiar with that case, but it sounds like you could use more airflow. Also, you could always try watercooling. Air can't cool your system below ambient temps, but water can hold alot more heat. Obviously it won't be as effective as it would be in a cooler room, but it should show improved temps. I'd try improving the airflow in your case first though. Take the side off, put a housefan, or if you don't like that idea, try cutting some holes in your case with a dremel and sticking some 80 or 120 mm fans in strategic places.