Sign in with
Your question

Help with building a linux machine

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
July 6, 2008 10:51:05 PM

FYI: I am a newbie when it comes to linux. I am familiar with hardware and the many faults of windows, not linux/ open source software.

I am contemplating the possibility of the assembly of a computer to run 8.04.1 on. Its main purpose will be media and consequently media storage. I was hoping that those familiar with ubuntu for this purpose could give some advice. Thanks in advance.

On Windows many video assignments are going to be given to the video card rather soon, encoding etc. - CUDA etc. Is this in the future for Ubuntu? If so, how soon, and would it therefore be worth it to purchase a videocard even though I won't be gaming on it.

If not then what motherboard chipset should I purchase based on the fact that although intel most certainly has faster cpus than amd, but the amd 780g and upcoming 780gx most certainly have better integrated graphics. How important are the onboard chipsets to the performance of a ubuntu based machine. Would it affect any video converting, experience etc.?

That being said I am aware that historically ATI now part of AMD has shown rather poor support for linux in general, but I read somewhere that they're trying to fix that with the 4800 release. Any progress? Does this apply to their chipsets as well. If so would I be better off with intel integrated graphics - nvidia hasn't been doing much integrated lately, however they produce fine gpus.I am just not confident in my newbiness(if that is a word) to be messing with drivers in linux.

Memory is also important to the experience of a computer and I would like to know how linux handles memory. Do you need as much as the garbage windows to experience smooth usage. also are there crazy memory barriers in the number of gb that you can have- ie. 3.5 for 32bit and 12 for 64bit(windows)