Sign in with
Your question

dualbooting two linux distros

Tags:
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
July 16, 2008 5:25:40 AM

I am fairly new to the linux world and I recently reinstalled pclinux os and installed ubuntu on teh same hard drive. I thought I could get support for my new 9600gt, but I haven't found anything to allow any 3d capability.

However, now that I've installed two os's on the same drive, how can I pick which distro to run using a bootloader?

I've looked up GRUB and figured it was my best bet. But I don't know if I should install it on the linux hd I have or a floppy and run that first.

I know I might be asking a completely noob question, but I'm curious to get into my linux os's!
a b 5 Linux
July 16, 2008 1:11:47 PM

How did you partition your disk?

You need to install GRUB onto your boot drive and edit the grub configuration file.

Make sure you make a backup copy before you edit the file.

You can roughly merge the configuration sections from the bottom of each GRUB configuration file.

on Ubuntu }---------- /boot/grub/menu.lst

pseudo example }---------------------- /boot/grub/menu.lst

title Ubuntu
root (hd?,?)
kernel /vmlinuz???? root=UUID=??????????????????????
initrd /initrd.img????????

title pclinux
root (hd?,?)
kernel /vmlinuz???????? root=????????

end pseudo example }---------------------- /boot/grub/menu.lst

????????? will vary depending on your system

For more info run }-----------

1. man grub
  3. info grub

or look at the documentation under /usr/share/doc/grub/ or /usr/share/doc/grub*/ or http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/

GL :) 
July 16, 2008 4:19:16 PM

I partitioned the drive so it's basically 50/50 for each distro including its own swap space.

So, to install GRUB I need to install it under ubuntu (since that is the only linux distro I can boot into)?

Do I have to re-partition my drive since all of it is used by both linux distros?
Related resources
a b 5 Linux
July 17, 2008 8:14:40 AM

rabidbunny said: