MSI K9 good ?

Zorak

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2006
PCChips is no good in general? That was the brand that I bought to replace my old ASUS A7n8x deluxe when it broke. So far it seems to work ok, but then again I gave that computer to my sister and I have no idea what her experience is with it these days.

If it is just no good w/ respect to Linux (even though I may dislike that) I guess that would be acceptable so long as the board itself isn't crappy quality. My sister is a windows user anyways so she'd not be missing out.

-Zorak

PCChips was the lowest of the low... they were relatively reliable, but they weren't the fastest boards out there (probably among the slowest) and overclocking would be limited to non-existent. (Not that the OP is looking to OC, but still)

ECS was bad for cheap capacitors... at least back in the P4 days and before... I'm not sure how they are now. I haven't had any experience with Foxconn boards, so I can't speak about any issues they may have.

linux_0

Splendid
I agree with Zoron

PCChips and ECS merged in 2005.

ECS has had a long and mixed history some of their boards were good, some ok and others were really bad.

I've seen some ECS boards catch fire, so watch out.

PCChips was known for being the cheapest of the cheap.

Foxconn recently had issues with Linux compatibility, which have supposedly been corrected with BIOS upgrades but I wouldn't recommend them until they clean up their act. I also had stability and BIOS issues with Foxconn on various operating systems.

GL :)

Zorak

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2006
Haha, ok then I guess I will add those guys to my blacklist along with ASUS :p
That board left me with a really bad taste in my mouth because of their sh*tty ACPI implementation that kept me from installing winXP for a really long time. Maybe holding grudges is irrational, but I am fairly bitter that I had to use win98 for almost a year while I tried to figure out why XP wouldn't install (I didn't know about Linux back then).