File System Folders and there purpose

knightrous

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2006
I decided to post this for my own curiosity, but I thought it would be a good thing for other linux users to learn more about.

Now I've been using Ubuntu for over 2 years now, but for a majority of that time, I've just used Ubuntu like an OS, and never really spent much time exploring or learning more about it (Except when I break things).

So I wanted to ask the question(s):

What do the following folders in the file system mean, and what is there task to the OS?

/bin/ - I'm assuming it's were the standard OS binaries go, but I'm only guessing
/dev/ - I would have said development, but this seems to be were all communication happens (hdds, serial, usb etc etc)
/home/ - 127.0.0.1 sweet 127.0.0.1, the place were you store all your stuff, or should?
/initrd/ - I'm not sure about this one... Something Kernal related?
/lib/ - Guessing it's libraries...
/lost+found/ - Seems obvious, but I've never found anything in there...
/media/ - I seem to use this for mounting my external and shared drives in, not sure if it's what I should be doing here though...
/mnt/ - I'm not sure...
/proc/ - Temp place for all processes running?
/sbin/ - Binaries again, but special?
/srv/ - Services?
/sys/ - Oh noes, not system32?! Must be where the viruses hang out :D
/tmp/ - Temporary stuff!
/usr/ - Stuff?
/var/ - Variables? A new pirate word?

Now, I could have googled this, but I thought, with the wealth of information by the knowledgeable people in this Linux section, should be able to compile a decent explanation. So dig out emacs and start compiling!

linux_0

Splendid
wiki

/bin/ Essential command binaries that need to be available in single user mode; for all users

/dev/ Essential devices

/home/ Users' home directories - containing saved files, personal settings etc. Often a separate partition.

/lib/ Libraries essential for the binaries in /bin/ and /sbin/.