Sign in with
Your question

First build, building this summer, question on components.

Last response: in Systems
May 10, 2007 4:44:17 PM

Hi, I'm a noob builder and just had some questions. Below are the parts I'm looking at using, just wanted some feedback. Uses is for gaming and fairly stable. I'm not going to do much OCing at first. Also, a few questions.
First, with DDR3 coming soon, should I wait? I'm not in a huge rush, so a few more months isn't a big deal. Second, I say that the new intel bearlake chipset is coming soon. Wait or not? Last, it it a good future-proof system for a few years? Thanks!

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Foxconn FV-N88XMAD2-ONOC GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 OverClock HDCP Video Card

DIAMOND XtremeSound XS71DDL 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card
$49.99

ENERMAX EG851AX-VH(W) EPS12V 660W Power Supply

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ $154.99
$124.99

Foxconn N68S7AA-8EKRS2H LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600
May 10, 2007 5:14:58 PM

My opinion for waiting for "Bearlake" is not to do it. DDR3 memory is not out and will more likely be very expensive when it does.

DDR2 is so dirt cheap now, it's not really worth waiting.

1. Wait until next Monday before buying a video card. The HD2900XT is coming out. This might have some affect on video card prices.

2. I think that mobo is overkill. The GA-965P-DS3 is an excellent overclocker but it doesn't come with firewire if you need. The ASUS P5B-E is comparable and has firewire. The ABIT AB9 Pro is another good choice. Or look at the 570 chipset series.

3. You can save a little bit of money and get Corsair XMS2 instead.