bit of a dodgy request to be honest.

Flakes

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
i dont know if ill be breaking any terms or conditions by posting this so im gonna ask for anyone who knows the answer to PM me instead.

i have been asked by the company i work for to test how well a linux machine would hold up against user attack, basically i work in a school and we are being given some linux based machines, with some user accounts, now these machines will be going to students but i have been asked to test these machines to see if it is possible to get around certain privileges that are set in place.

an example would be installing personal software onto the device, or changing the administrator password, accessing files on the C: drive and deleting/editing them or using a proxy/socket program to bypass internet restrictions etc...

obviously the first thing i need to find out is how one would normally go about this, which is fine i have set up linux machines in the past and its only the odd thing that throws me off, however ive never looked at any advanced techniques one might use to there own ends, hence why i am here. My question is, is there any particular commands or directions you know off that would allow a user account to access the machine as if they where an administrator?

Best Regards,
Flakes

linux_0

Splendid
0. Get authorization in writing from 3 of your superiors to do this.

1. Check to make sure what you are doing is legal in the UK and wherever the systems are.

2. google for exploits and try them.

3. use SELinux and make a good policy for your systems.

4. ( optional ) hire a professional to give you attack code.

Good luck :)

Encrypted disc? Unless you're locking at the HW level I don't see how you can avoid it if you really don't want people to be able to edit files. Pen drives and LiveCD's are just too easy nowadays.

Yes... but can we hold off making that a popular config untill I've figured out how to do it! ;)